PowerPivot Configuration Tool error: Current Analysis Services account… Analysis Services service account must be the same for all instances…

When trying to run the PowerPivot Configuration Tool for SQL Server 2012 SP1 with SharePoint 2010 on a Windows Server 2008 R2 server, have you ever seen this error?

“Current Analysis Services account: DOMAIN\account

Analysis Services service account must be the same for instances in the farm. Change you service properties to log on using account: NT AUTHORITY\LOCAL SERVICE

Plsease address the validation failures and try again”

Also shown in the Picture below:

PowerPivot_ConfigurationTool_Bugg_SSASaccounts_anonymized

I’ll try to sort this out for you by carrying out some actions.

Background

The background story to this is that I previously tried to add PowerPivot directly to the Application/WFE server (in my 2-tier SharePoint environment). As this wasn’t successful and also the hardware on that server wasn’t to be upgraded (late decision) I wanted to add PowerPivot to a server outside of the farm. Of course I know that isn’t possible using SharePoint 2010 together with SQL Server 2012 SP1 so I firstly added this server as an Application server to the farm (for those that have added language packs to your SharePoint 2010 farm please install those to your new Application server as well Before trying to add it to your farm).

I looked into using Tyler Durham’s solution (http://tnbluesboy.wordpress.com/2012/04/23/issue-running-powerpivot-configuration-tool/) but to no joy since I already had uninstalled everything regarding my earlier PowerPivot installation attempt, which left me without Service Application or Windows Service – SQL Server Analysis Services in Central Administration. Since this type of solution seem to be the most referred to when googling or binging I was not to hopeful in finding any solution to my problem.

Actions taken

Action 1:

Disregard both of the sloppy written miss-spells (i.e. “Change you” instead of “Change your” and “Pslease” instead of “Please”) in the error message and carry on. 🙂

Action 2:

So… when reading the error message it comes clear that perhaps it would suffice with changing the service account for your PowerPivot SQL instance to use the NT AUTHORITY\LOCAL SERVICE (actual name for this service account is NT AUTHORITY\LocalService). That is NOT the case here 🙂

See the picture below for the result of the above action:

PowerPivot_ConfigurationTool_Bugg_SSASaccounts2_anonymized

Evidently I.e. no change there!

Action 3:

I started thinking, and slowly it came to my mind that the installation media for the SQL Server 2012 wasn’t including the SP1 so there I had an opening to maybe clear out this error.

I updated the POWERPIVOT SQL instance by running the SP1 update. At the same time I copyied the spPowerPivot.msi file from that SP1-update-temporary-folder into a folder of my choosing.

When update was finished I then ran the spPowerPivot.msi file to install all necessary parts for PowerPivot on a SharePoint Application server.

Result

The result of Action 3 was fortunate! I was able to start the PowerPivot Configuration Tool (Not the one for SharePoint 2013), and complete the configuration.

Hope this can help you out in implementing a PowerPivot for SharePoint backend!

Happy PowerPivoting!

12 comments

  1. Per · · Reply

    Nice, thanks.

  2. This is a good tip particularly to those fresh to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very precise information… Thanks for sharing
    this one. A must read post!

  3. It is not my first time to go to see this site, i am visiting this web
    page dailly and obtain pleasant data from here every day.

  4. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it
    or something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is magnificent blog.
    A fantastic read. I will definitely be back.

  5. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but
    I find this topic to be really something that I think I would
    never understand. It seems too complex and extremely broad for me.
    I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the
    hang of it!

  6. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often! instagram
    instagram
    instagram

  7. Hurrah, that’s what I was seeking for, what a data! existing here at this website, thanks admin of this web site.
    twitter
    twitter
    twitter

  8. Hi there, You have done a fantastic job. I’ll
    certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends.

    I am confident they will be benefited from this web site.
    twitter
    twitter

  9. I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for excellent info I was looking for this information for my mission. facebook
    facebook
    facebook

  10. always i used to read smaller posts which
    as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with this
    post which I am reading at this place. instagram
    instagram
    instagram

  11. Hello my friend! I wish to say that this article
    is amazing, nice written and include approximately all vital infos.
    I’d like to peer more posts like this . facebook
    facebook
    facebook

  12. Right here is the perfect website for anyone who would like to understand this topic.
    You understand a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually
    would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a new spin on a topic which has
    been discussed for ages. Excellent stuff, just great!
    twitter
    twitter

Leave a Reply

