Configuring PowerPivot for SharePoint 2013 Preview

After having installed the SQL Server PowerPivot 2012 to SharePoint 2010 I thought there problably would not be any big news in this slightly updated version. But installing the all new version of PowerPivot showed me wrong as seen among the last images, there is now an option to add more PowerPivot servers to an Excel Service Application.

My SharePoint databases are placed on a separate server containing SQL Server 2012. To use all the new features of PowerPivot and PowerView  in SharePoint 2013 Preview I was forced to do another install of SQL Server 2012 SP1 CTP4 (this time I placed them on the same machine as SharePoint) which I did not think I was going to have to do. Thi

Pre-installation problem: If not using  SQL Server 2012 SP1 CTP 4 when installing the PowerPivot to use with your SharePoint 2013 Preview, you get this problem

Step 1: I started the configuration through Start menu -> All Programs -> SQL Server 2012 -> Configuration Tools -> PowerPivot Configuration for SharePoint 2013

Step 2: Initially I got this screen in which I just pressed “Ok”.

Step 3: Added the farm account and typed the farm account password. Also,  I put in the server\instance to place the PowerPivot Service Application database and specified on which server\POWERPIVOT I installed the PowerPivot for SQL Server 2012 SP CTP4.

Step 4: I specified the name of the new PowerPivot Service Application and the name of the new PowerPivot Service Application database. (The database name field is filled with the value you gave in the above step 3).

Step 5: In this step I gave the information needed to configure the Secure Store Unattended account (i.e. Target Application ID and its friendly name, the Unattended user account and its password and finally the Site Collection to associate with this Target Application.).

Step 6: Now I define which PowerPivot servers are to be registered with the Excel Service Application (this step is new I think, at least I don’t remember it from the non-SP1-version of SQL Server 2012).

Step 7: I verified my settings by clicking “Verify”. Clicked “Ok”, and now I was done.

Step 8 and so on: Add the feature to the Site Collection of choice, create PowerPivot workbooks and do some PowerPivoting…

Happy PowerPivot configuring!

One comment

  1. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thanks, However I am encountering troubles with your
    RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I am unable to join it. Is there anybody else getting similar RSS issues? Anyone who knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

Leave a Reply

